Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Berkeley College student-athletes honored Tuesday evening at Sixth Annual Athletics Banquet

Berkeley College student-athletes honored Tuesday evening at Sixth Annual Athletics Banquet

The Berkeley College Department of Athletics honored its student-athletes this evening at the institution's Sixth Annual Athletics Banquet held at the Venetian in Garfield, NJ. The evening was a raging success, featuring over 70 student-athletes and coaches, as well as members of the institution's administration.

In the early stages of the event, President Michael Smith made some heartfelt remarks about Berkeley College's Department of Athletics, praising the student-athletes on their athletic accomplishments while also encouraging them to continue to stay focused in the classroom. Assistant Director of Athletics Stephen Spagnoli served as the Master of Ceremonies throughout the entirety of the evening, and Vice President of Student Affairs and Campus Life Dallas Reed capped the night with a fantastic inspirational speech that is sure to resonate with the students for the rest of their lives.

A total of 17 student-athletes received commemorative plaques as a token of recognition for earning team awards for the 2018-2019 athletic year, and Hector Ferro was selected as the latest recipient of the Kenneth Ray Service Award. The recipients of all of the major awards are below: 

New Jersey Men's Soccer:

Most Valuable Player: Robert Parker

Most Improved Player: Arturo Layza

Coaches Award: Gennaro Vittorioso

New York Men's Soccer:

Most Valuable Player: Dario Cruz Sepulveda

Most Improved Player: Omario Rosen

Rookie of the Year: Ben Elvenes

Men's Cross Country:

Most Valuable Runner: Shi'yem Lennon

Most Improved Player: Jeremy Jimenez

Coaches Award: Sean Smith

Men's Basketball:

Most Valuable Player: Ricardo Ayuso

Most Improved Player: Nigel Hemingway

Coaches Award: Deylon Bovell

Women's Tennis:

Most Valuable Player: Joyce Lewis 

Coaches Award: Josolin Fults

Women's Cross Country:

Most Valuable Runner: Delilah Glasper

Most Improved Runner: Jasmine Boone

Coaches Award: Jessica Trinidad

2018-2019 Kenneth Ray Service Award Recipient

Hector Ferro