Berkeley College student-athletes honored Tuesday evening at Fifth Annual Athletics Banquet

Berkeley College student-athletes honored Tuesday evening at Fifth Annual Athletics Banquet

The Berkeley College Department of Athletics honored its student-athletes this evening at the institution's Fifth Annual Athletics Banquet held at the Venetian in Garfield, NJ. The evening was a raging success, featuring over 100 student-athletes and coaches, as well as members of the institution's administration.

In the early stages of the event, President Michael Smith made some heartfelt remarks about Berkeley College's Department of Athletics, praising the student-athletes on their athletic accomplishments while also encouraging them to continue to stay focused in the classroom. Assistant Director of Athletics Stephen Spagnoli served as the Master of Ceremonies throughout the entirety of the evening, and Vice President of Student Affairs and Campus Life Dallas Reed capped the night with a fantastic inspirational speech that is sure to resonate with the students for the rest of their lives.

A total of 23 student-athletes received commemorative plaques as a token of recognition for earning team awards for the 2017-2018 athletic year, and Joe Tribuzio was selected as the latest recipient of the Kenneth Ray Service Award. The recipients of all of the major awards are below: 

New Jersey Men's Soccer:

Most Valuable Player: James Ashun

Most Improved Player: Hassane Camara

Coaches Award: Salaimon Sarwari

New York Men's Soccer:

Most Valuable Player: Enis Zahmoul

Coaches Award: Josue Jimenez

Co Rookies of the Year: Meshema Charles and Marcos Leon 

Men's Cross Country:

Most Valuable Runner: Anthony Argueta

Most Improved Player: Joshua Williams

Coaches Award: Albert Jordan

Men's Basketball:

Most Valuable Player: Michael Taylor

Most Improved Player: Shamoree Strawn

Coaches Award: Teyvon Bussey

Men's Tennis:

Most Valuable Player: Sebastien Rousseau

Coaches Award: Nicolas Echavarria

Women's Tennis: 

Most Improved Player: Kyle Cruz

Most Valuable Player: Fanny Harling 

Women's Cross Country:

Most Valuable Runner: Andrea Gil

Most Improved Runner: Melissa Ramirez

Coaches Award: Marilyn Contreras

Women's Basketball:

Most Valuable Player: Ayana Ratliff

Most Improved Player: Ebony Lofton

Coaches Award: Ashley Duplan

2017-2018 Kenneth Ray Service Award Recipient

Joe Tribuzio